FreeWeldingForum.com 
Welding Forum Community presented by LONGEVITY
877 - Long - Inc | 877.566.4462
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: what type of gas is required for tig welding

Images
    Thanks

what type of gas is required for tig welding

I have heard many people say u should use shielding gas.Others say straight aragon. What do u guys suggest. I am new to this all so take it easy people thanks

Images
    Thanks
    Straight argon works well for most TIG welding including aluminum. If you do mostly aluminum a mix of helium and argon can be used but straight argon also works.
    Units owned Longevity PROmts 200
    Longevity WeldPro LS200PI (IGBT)
    Force Cut LP80 plasma cutter
    Longevity auto dark welding helmet

Atlas 10x36" lathe
    Craftsman 5HP 30 Gal compressor
    Home made CNC router/plasma/hot wire foam cutting, 3D printing table powered by Longevity Force Cut LP80
    Home built aluminum foundry, HF 4x6 bandsaw, O/A torch

Thanks
    Argon is shielding gas just to straighten that out. Back in the day the used helium and only
    helium to weld with. That is where tig welding originally got it's name. Heli-arc whic esab now owns. Anyway enough with the history we don't use helium anymore due to it's price mainly. Argon is always going to be used for you and most people. Helium is used with aluminum really thick aluminum. I use it for tig welding aluminum over 1/4 just makes the arc hotter so you get better pennetration. The only other situation you use it is in dc welding aluminum which again is for really thick sections. This is even more expensive because you need uhp helium. So pure argon is what you will be needing.

Images
    Thanks
    Oh someone at work told me shielding gas was a mixture of Aragon and carbon dioxide!!! But Arogan it is how much does this gas run on the market for?

Thanks