PDA
View Full Version :

TIGWELD 160SX initial review

SteveRWhite
12-12-2012, 07:51 AM
I'm new here so I'm probably missing something but I'm not seeing any reviews of the TIGWELD 160SX for Aluminum. So, at the risk of repeating something, I'm going to go ahead and post my initial impressions in case it will help someone.

I am a home hobby welder and just got a TIGWELD 160SX and have about 1 hour of time on it welding aluminum and I'm VERY impressed. My only other TIG aluminum experience was on a Miller Dynasty 200 at the local community college for the last 3 months.

My initial impression (AGAIN, AS A HOBBYIST WELDING SMALL STUFF IN MY HOME SHOP): The Longevity TIGWELD is easily as good as the Miller at about 1/4 the cost. At this point, I can tell no difference in the quality of the welds, ease of use, etc. and I see no reason, as a hobbyist, to buy a MUCH more expensive unit unless you just want to throw money away. Even if the Longevity only lasts 1/4 as long as the Miller, you might as well just buy the Longevity and get a new one every couple of years. At least that way, you'll have the benefit of the latest technology.

I'm using it on 110 volt power supply in my heated shop and it performs perfectly well with the 0.100" aluminum I've been practicing on. It's not convenient for me to set up near the 220V supply out in my cold garage but I will do so when the weather warms up a bit and I'll post an update here if there's any point to it.

For anyone who is new to the TIGWELD 160SX and/or new to aluminum welding who cares, after doing some tests, here's what I ended up doing to get strong, beautiful looking butt welds on 6061 T6 0.100":

110V adapter plugged in
#7 cup (Larger cup = larger shield area)
3/32 2% Lan tungsten - blue tip (look closely at collets and collet body parts to get the right set up in the torch)
CLEAN aluminum 0.100" thick and clean filler rod
Foot pedal control
Amps on foot pedal dial set to approx. 100 amps