PDA
View Full Version :

THK linear actuator for my z axis?



brucer
06-08-2012, 01:45 PM
Guys i wanted to let you know I bought a linear actuator for my z axis, I might have screwed up, I paid $200 brand new in box, with cosmolene still on it..

did I get screwed?

Xalky
06-08-2012, 02:55 PM
I don't think you got screwed, that's pretty much what they're going for used on e-bay. Yours is brand new. Thats very similar to the one thats on mine. I think I paid in the neighborhood of $165incl shipping, new old stock, but i was hunting around for weeks before I found the one i bought. It was a "buy it now". The guy had 3 of them and they were sold within a day. This stuff aint cheap. These THK linear actuators are really nice, zero backlash. Probably overkill for a plasma table, but when I bought mine I was thinking about future uses for the table, such as a router platform.

As long as it's a nema23 motor mount, your good to go.

brucer
06-08-2012, 04:41 PM
well I think I bought 2 actuators for $200.. (NEW) Pair of THK LM Guide Actuator (KR2602B+200L0-000X) | eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/160805302066?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649)


order conformation also says pair... Item Title: (NEW) Pair of THK LM Guide Actuator (KR2602B+200L0-000X)

Xalky
06-08-2012, 05:24 PM
If that's the case, you got a great deal.

Gadget
06-08-2012, 07:10 PM
Yup, you got a good deal. I wonder though if you have enough travel, the specs say 10.5" total length. I suspect you're only going to get a couple of inches travel, that's enough for plasma but might be low for routing.

brucer
06-08-2012, 07:17 PM
I'm thinking its going to have about 4 1/2" travel.. I might could disassemble one and take one truck off of it for more travel, we'll see..

Gadget
06-09-2012, 06:52 AM
Four and a half might be enough. I have about 6" on mine but most of the time only use three or four.

acourtjester
06-09-2012, 01:49 PM
Just think of all the time you saved buying that. It puts you much closer to being finished and cutting parts.
Time=money sometimes its better to spend some money to save time.

have fun
Tom

KHK
06-10-2012, 11:05 AM
I think that it is a good deal. If you remove the lower truck with out a receiver for the truck you won't be able to reassemble. So be sure that tou want to do it before proceding.

Charley Davidson
06-10-2012, 11:41 AM
I would buy the other one off of you.

brucer
06-10-2012, 08:38 PM
I think that it is a good deal. If you remove the lower truck with out a receiver for the truck you won't be able to reassemble. So be sure that tou want to do it before proceding.

I thought about that keith, I think I would need to turn up a piece of nylon or wood dowel or cold roll the same i.d. as the ballscrew so the bearings wouldnt fall out of the truck when I remove it..

KHK
06-10-2012, 09:10 PM
I thought about that keith, I think I would need to turn up a piece of nylon or wood dowel or cold roll the same i.d. as the ballscrew so the bearings wouldnt fall out of the truck when I remove it..

The truck on the botton should not be connected to the ball screw. The bearings on the truck connected to the slide are the ones that I was talking about.

brucer
06-11-2012, 11:01 AM
The truck on the botton should not be connected to the ball screw. The bearings on the truck connected to the slide are the ones that I was talking about.

ah ok keith.. thanks, I wasnt even thinking of the trucks on the slides..

brucer
06-11-2012, 11:44 AM
ah ok keith.. thanks, I wasnt even thinking of the trucks on the slides..

that also means i can probably unbolt the mounting plate and leave the slides, unless its all one piece.

brucer
06-15-2012, 12:26 PM
the linear actuator arrived today... these things are brand new. They were still in the thk box, they were unused, unopened, factory certified.

They are very nice pieces.... They would be very, and I mean very nice on a small to mid-size machine.. I've very actually held a linear actuator in my hands and as a machinist/tool&die maker I can tell you these of some damn nice pieces..

They would work fine but its a little small for my table.. Like gadget I think I need need about 6" or maybe even 8" of travel, if I remove my aluminum struts in the middle of my table i need atleast 6 1/2" but with a water table, these would work perfect, but I want to be able to pull the water table and use it as a router...

I'm going to sell them both, I listed them on ebay with a buy it now of $250 and a my lowest make offer is $150.. after seeing the pieces they are well worth the $150..

New THK Linear Actuator | eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-THK-Linear-Actuator-/221048632494?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item33778674ae)

A couple guys sent me pm's that they would buy one, well I'll sell them both to buy one bigger piece for my table, I'll come down a little for guys here but I'm not losing money on them..

shoot me an offer I'm negotiable, but not stupid ;)..

brucer
06-15-2012, 12:29 PM
well maybe i am stupid, I forgot to post the pictures..


My cat said, WTF Bruce, wheres the pictures?

acourtjester
06-15-2012, 01:01 PM
One smart cat you got there.

undercut
06-15-2012, 01:15 PM
well maybe i am stupid, I forgot to post the pictures.. My cat said, WTF Bruce, wheres the pictures? Maybe the wrong "person" is putting your CNC together .... ;)

KHK
06-15-2012, 06:09 PM
brucer, in your ebay add you don't mention the quantity.

Charley Davidson
06-15-2012, 06:46 PM
Brucer, If you want to make your own linear actuator I'll give you 2 rails and trucks, not sure if they are THK or not but they are good ones, I have several lengths and sizes.

Xalky
06-16-2012, 08:07 AM
Yeah, I think your right Brucer. The THK I ended up buying has 6 1/2" of travel which is really too much for Plasma but I have future plans for routing. I'm also keeping a very close eye on Gadgets 3d printer build. That be an awesome feature to implement.

brucer
06-16-2012, 01:54 PM
Keith,

I changed the ad from a buy it now or best offer, to a buy it now and auction..

Charley Davidson
06-16-2012, 08:23 PM
This thread says that Brucer posted a message after mine but it doesn't show up. This has happened several times here. Brucer if you were replying to my offer of the track and skates PM me on Hobby Machinist

Gadget
06-17-2012, 12:25 PM
I saw that too Charley but figured Brucer deleted the message after it was posted. Brucer, only you can clear this up. ;-)

acourtjester
06-17-2012, 01:34 PM
wrong post sorry

brucer
06-17-2012, 08:31 PM
I saw that too Charley but figured Brucer deleted the message after it was posted. Brucer, only you can clear this up. ;-)

I dont recall deleting anything

brucer
06-21-2012, 06:18 PM
sold one actuator today :2thumbs

Charley Davidson
06-21-2012, 06:23 PM
sold one actuator today :2thumbs

I gave one away today:doh2

acourtjester
06-22-2012, 01:42 PM
Thanks Charley
They be Nice Plans should get there Sat.

Have fun
Tom:2thumbs:joker

brucer
06-27-2012, 08:02 PM
ok here we go... I bought those 2 linear actuators, they were a bit shorter than I liked, well they would work for plasma cutting but would be short for routing because the water table will be removed, I might also take out the center aluminum struts for more available height.. So I put one of the linear slides up on ebay and sold it for $150 plus shipping and someone still got a smoking deal on it, things were brand new..

I turned around and bought another actuator that was the next series bigger and had more travel, it should be perfect. I got it for $125 plus shipping.. plus it is covered, which is even better..

brucer
06-27-2012, 08:03 PM
sorry crappy picture :(