PDA
View Full Version :

Stickweld 250 review

hog
03-02-2012, 08:57 PM
My stickweld 250 came in today, all i can say is WOW. The fit and finish is excellent,way beyond what i expected for the price. If it welds as good as it looks i"m gonna be one happy camper. Website pics dont do it justice. Gonna hook it up tomorrow and try my first welds with a inverter.

hog
03-03-2012, 09:00 AM
First inverter welds,no noise or sticking was the first thing i noticed. i'm a trk tech not a welder so they aint purdy. lol 1/8th 7018 on top and 1/8th 6010 on bottom that i forgot to use the 6010 port for .

hog
03-03-2012, 09:30 AM
A friend tried it thats had a few welding lessons, he was impressed with the machine also.

KHK
03-03-2012, 10:09 AM
Looks great! Nice welds!

SICFabrications
03-03-2012, 12:03 PM
Slow down, and let's see a little more heat in the 7018 weld beads. On that heavy of metal and using 1/8 7018's, I would wanna see about 130-140 amps. Again, you'll want your arc force settings on the low side and slow up your travel, stand the rod up a little more at almost slightly less than 80 degrees drag side. You will also want ttherod aiming down towards the bottom plate a little more when welding flat. Same will also apply to the 7014 rods. The puddle WILL wash up to the upper piece with a little patience. Once you start that, that is when you will see the weld bead turn bluish gold and the slag will self peel. Keep burning rods.

---------- Post added at 01:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:01 PM ----------

One last thing, where you terminated the weld at the end of the piece, pause for a half a second and let the puddle build and that will stop the pseudo-crater that you've got going on. Heavy steel is my world daily. You're on a good path to being a good stick hand and will be building bridge parts soon enough!

hog
03-03-2012, 08:53 PM