PDA
View Full Version :

EMC2 or Mach3?

brucer
08-29-2011, 01:55 PM
if you had a choice between emc2 or mach3 which would you prefer to use for control software?

cost not a deciding factor..

Gadget
08-29-2011, 05:13 PM
I went with EMC2 for cost considerations and am very happy with it. There is a lot of support which is helpful when creating specialized buttons or functions. I have no experience with Mach though so can't compare the two.

brucer
08-29-2011, 05:25 PM
gadget,

what program are you using for designing, and then what are you using for generating g-code? are they linux based programs also?

using emc2, what is the file extension of the programs it uses to run the machine?

Gadget
08-29-2011, 07:19 PM
I use Alibre design and DraftSight for drawing and SheetCam to create the cut paths for plasma and 2.5D routing. Alibre was $99.00 at one time, I think it's more now. DraftSight is free for home use and seems pretty powerful. SheetCam comes in Windows and Linux versions. You can actually use the development version free with a license provided. You will have to reinstall every month when a new version comes out though. SheetCam TNG isn't that expensive if you decide to buy it.
I also use Vectric's Cut3D for 3D routing, it generates a machine code from a 3d dxf drawing. It can also generate from an obj file.
As for EMC the native file type is .ngc but you can use .tap or other extension. Sheetcam normally generates a .tap file but all you need to do is change it to .ngc but you really don't need to. I think you can even use a .txt file in EMC2 so it's pretty versatile. EMC2 also has a feature that will take a photo and create a 3d object from the photo. Not as good as Vectic's PhotoVCarve but still good.
You can download the EMC2 program and Linux OS on a single live CD and you can boot to it to see if it's what you want. Of course, any configurations done are gone after you shut down since it's not possible to save the configurations.