PDA
View Full Version :

Flashed myself, what to expect?

oneeyedmac
04-17-2011, 09:12 PM
So I'm new at this and I made an error today. I was practising stick welding with my new TigWeld 200 and it was going pretty good. I had safety glasses on and my new miler performance series helmet. I started a weld and thought to myself "I wonder why that's so bright?". About when I got to the word bright I realized I hadn't flipped my helmet down. So I only have one eye and none to spare. Is there anything I should expect to happen because of this? Right now my eye kind of aches a bit and I have a headache starting. The flash was a little over an hour ago.

Yet again, I feel like an idiot. I'm wondering if this old dog should be trying to learn new tricks.

Gadget
04-17-2011, 09:20 PM
A moderate burn will feel a bit like sand in your eyes. How long did the flash last? It's like a sundburn, the longer the exposure the more the damage.

oneeyedmac
04-17-2011, 09:21 PM
I'd guess 3-5 seconds

Gadget
04-18-2011, 09:02 AM
Probably will have some irritation the next morning but I don't think you did any serious damage.
I worked on a two man MIG production welding team back in the 70's. Every time you got a new partner you would wake up with the sand in your eyes feeling the next morning until you got to know your partners moves. I can still see today.

rustycase
04-18-2011, 12:12 PM
A very good thing to avoid...
Damage can be instantaneous, and cumulative.
At the least you'll end up with 'holes' in your vision. NOT good !
Practice a standard routine when welding and you may avoid problems... would be my suggestion.
rc

Charley Davidson
04-18-2011, 01:19 PM
I think as long as you just flash yourself & not others you shouldn't expect the cops at your door.

SICFabrications
04-18-2011, 01:25 PM
lmao @ charley.... get back to work

---------- Post added at 02:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:22 PM ----------