PDA
View Full Version :

Welding cast iron.

Bluesman
03-26-2010, 08:18 PM
How do you do it? I've never done it before but I'm sure there is a specific rod or wire or something I need and possibly a different technique than what I'm used to welding steel.

tomsign
03-26-2010, 08:21 PM
new or repair, what welder are you using

Bluesman
03-26-2010, 08:30 PM
new or repair, what welder are you using
It is a repair and I'm not sure which welder I will be using. Which welder is best? I have mig, ac stick, gas flux core, gasless flux core, DC+ and DC- stick and have access to DC tig.

I don't know what is best or where to start. A student asked me if he brought something in could he and I fix it. I told him both of us would have to LEARN and that I would be finding out what process welder to use and electrode and such.

BTW, it is a vice. He said it don't have to be pretty just strong.

tomsign
03-26-2010, 08:46 PM
There are many different grades of cast iron, some more weldable than others. And it is difficult to tell them apart
But 1. Clean the metal: 2.grove out the crack 3.Preheat if possible. evenly heat to hot, like 400-500f 4. stick with Nickel Rod (Ni Rod) or you can Mig
But keep peening the weld bead so it help with the shrinkage of the weld
but do it consistently
Bottom line one day it weld fine another forget it I Have welded a lot of C/I
Tomsign
PS always keep the temp up on the project till done welding
ALSO IF IN COOL WEATHER KEEP FROM COOLING OFF TO QUICKLY

tomsign
03-26-2010, 08:55 PM
Bluuesman, also if you are going to Mig it make sure you use a V Nitt
technic as you would in Miging a inside corner verticaly going up
if you dive into it with deep sharp penitration, instead of broad even disturbution
the weld will shrink quicker then the cast and pull away. in which leave a void or crack along side the new weld

KHK
03-26-2010, 08:58 PM