PDA
View Full Version :

Trying for a decent bead!!!!

Dustendee
03-17-2010, 04:15 PM
OKay OKAy Im new to welding and I only have a HF 80 amp Inverter stick welder, I think its great for the beginer on a dime the reason for this post is because Im having trouble with a consistant bead!? headbanger as a matter of fact most of my beads look like crap, im cleaning the work surface(1/4 in mild steal tacked in a T-joint) im using 6013 5/64-3/32-1/8 rod also from HF it has a good burn to it I just cant get it to bead the way I want to!? if anyone has some good technics that I can apply or point out somthing im doing worng please let me know. Or is it just the case of a noob that needs to practice some more.

Gadget
03-17-2010, 04:27 PM
5/16th rod?? I hope that was a typo and you meant 3/16". Even so with 80 amps at full bore you should be running 3/32 or at most 1/8" rod in my opinion.

Dustendee
03-17-2010, 04:36 PM
Yeah I've been using 1/8 rod as well I really like that way that burns but im still having the problem....Splochy, and uneven beads, thicker in some part thin in others should I be using a weaving pattern? Ugh I need help (yes it was a typo its fixed)

Gadget
03-17-2010, 05:40 PM
Can you post some photos of your beads?

Dustendee
03-17-2010, 06:20 PM
Sure, I don't know how to do that though

Gadget
03-17-2010, 07:12 PM
Sure, I don't know how to do that though

At the bottom of the post window there is a Manage Attachments button. Click on this then click on browse to find your photos. Once they are selected you must click the upload button to upload the photo to the post. Photo size is best at 640X480. You can click on preview to insure the photos have uploaded successfully. You have a limit of 5 photos per post. If you have more than that you can create another post immediately after the first and add 5 more photos.
Dan

Dustendee
03-17-2010, 07:28 PM
okay so here are these nasty beads, these are with 1/8 6013 quick strikes from HF cursingicon

barracuda