PDA
View Full Version :

Need advice on butt welding 1" plate steel

Ocular Engineer
03-08-2010, 08:43 PM
I am NOT a welder by trade but I do a lot of welding at work. Most of it is on steel that is 1/2" thick or less.

I have been asked to weld two 4' x 4' by 1" plates of steel together to make one 4' x 8' plate. It will be used to smooth out the transition between a barge and a dock. Trucks will be driving over it.

I have already started prepping the steel by grinding a bevel on each side of the joint to be welded. I have 1/8" 7018 on hand, but I could probably get larger if I need to. I'll be using our Miller Syncrowave 200.

Can someone help me w/ procedure and/or technique so I don't screw this up?

Thanks for any help.

Freddytk421
03-09-2010, 05:41 PM
Wow thats a lot of welding. The best advice I could give you is get comfortable because you are going to be down there a while. It should not be that hard because its in the flat position and it's so big and thick you should not have to worry much about warping. set the machine to about 120 amps and just lay bead after bead after bead......don't forget to keep your 7018 rods hot in an oven and clean each weld very well with a wire wheel before going back over it. You should be really good by the time you are done with that project. Do you have a specific question like about the root or the filler or anything like that?

Ocular Engineer
03-09-2010, 06:06 PM
I guess I am most concerned about the plate warping.
I have the plate prepared and will be starting the welding on Friday. Each corner is beveled at about 45 deg and there is about 1/4 to 5/16" of vertical contact when the plates are matched up. The V is about 3/4" wide and 3/8" deep on each side.

I found that we have a large box of 7024, 1/8". It is good for downhand and I ran some test welds on some 1/2" plate, 180 to 195 amps. It flowed nicely. I can run the weld speed nice and slow w/ a little side to side and it will fill up the V.