PDA
View Full Version :

Windows 7



KHK
10-30-2009, 01:42 PM
I just loaded windows 7 on my computer. So far I like it, time will tell if my like continues. A few things, I had non-regestered programs on my machine, I lost them ALL, most of them I wrote myself, but never regestered them. So backup everything!! The programs that I wrote were backed up, so ALL is well.

LONGEVITY
10-30-2009, 02:54 PM
Keep us updated Keith. I have some PCs with XP and was eager to upgrade, but halted worried about the backing up and losing data.

Gadget
10-30-2009, 03:39 PM
I have the Windows 7 Business Ultimate 64 bit on my laptop. The only thing I haven't been able to run so far is the Talkshoe Talkphone applet. I did a wipe and clean install to do mine. The virtual XP mode is kind of nice and the Talkshoe applet runs but the audio won't pass through kind of defeating the purpose. Windows sounds pass through, just Talkshoe doesn't.

KHK
10-30-2009, 04:14 PM
The photo sizer does not work, it was writen for XP only.

Gadget
10-30-2009, 04:56 PM
There is a clone of that program available here
Image Resizer Powertoy Clone for Windows (http://www.codeplex.com/PhotoToysClone)

KHK
10-30-2009, 05:49 PM
Yes! Thanks Gadget this program works very well.

---------- Post added at 06:49 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:43 PM ----------

I converted from XP to windows 7 on a 32 bit desk top. All of my email addresses were saved, Virous programs updated, Visual Studio up dated, etc. The upgrade went very well accepr for non-regestared programs.

Gadget
10-30-2009, 06:41 PM
Did you use MIGWIZ Keith?

KHK
10-30-2009, 08:01 PM
Did you use MIGWIZ Keith?

Yes I think I did. Any way there is a increase i the computer's speed, much quicker!

Gadget
10-30-2009, 08:12 PM
If you find any programs that wont run use the virtual xp mode to run them. It works pretty well. I also loaded Ubuntu Linux 9.10 as a virtual machine on mine so I could play with it.

bhardy501
10-31-2009, 08:51 PM
I haveVista on this computer and am considering replacing with W7. I hate Vista. My laptop is being worked on now removing Vista and replacingwith XP. I play World of Warcraft and have been told by a lot of gamers that XP is alot more WOW friendly.

KHK
11-01-2009, 09:40 AM
My understanding is that W7 is what Vista was suposed to be.

torqueman
11-04-2009, 08:17 PM
Vista sucks. I have been running W7 for the last couple of days and it seems much more stable. So far everything is running. Still I would run strictly LINUX if all the software I need would run on it.

Gadget
11-04-2009, 08:47 PM
Amen to that Torqueman.

inot
11-29-2009, 06:28 AM
I am not a big fan of Windows, but both Vista and Windows 7 seem to do okay if you throw a lot of hardware at it.

torqueman
11-29-2009, 09:35 AM
Speaking of operating systems I tested the beta of the Google Chrome OS. I had to laugh as it is nothing but their Chrome Web Browser running as a shell. Your log in ID is your gmail account. So your ability to log in is contingent on having an internet connection. This product is no where near ready for general release and when it is I see it as being limited to people who want a simple to use OS and just want to browse the internet and get email.

Gadget
01-07-2010, 06:33 PM
Hey Keith, have you found the secret GodMode in Windows 7? What an awesome tool.

Understanding Windows 7's 'GodMode' | Beyond Binary - CNET News (http://news.cnet.com/8301-13860_3-10423985-56.html)

inot
01-07-2010, 07:03 PM
Hey Keith, have you found the secret GodMode in Windows 7? What an awesome tool.

Understanding Windows 7's 'GodMode' | Beyond Binary - CNET News (http://news.cnet.com/8301-13860_3-10423985-56.html)

They say that it will cause 64-bit Windows 7 to crash explorer.exe until you boot into a safe mode or a second OS and delete the godmode directory.

Gadget
01-07-2010, 07:05 PM
They said 64 bit Vista had that problem. I have 64 bit windows 7 and it is running perfectly.
The nice thing about it is you can create the folder on a thumb drive and have a quick mobile tool to work on Windows 7 machines.

inot
01-07-2010, 07:19 PM
They said 64 bit Vista had that problem. I have 64 bit windows 7 and it is running perfectly.

Thanks! I tried it here and it works. I wonder why they didn't just include it with the system as a control panel applet or something.

KHK
01-07-2010, 09:26 PM
I have it installed on a 32 bit and a 64 bit machines and it works with no problems at all. This is w7 enviroment.