PDA
View Full Version :

Using templates



jakazz
07-29-2009, 10:05 AM
So I tried, not well I may add to use some 1/2" plywood as a template for plasma cutting. Lots of smoke, especially when i went to pierce....lesson learned on that one.:-o

So now I'm thinking 1/2 too thick, gonna try some 3/8" cause the arc shutoff a couple times and I think the tip ended up 1/8" strong to the metal.

So what should I make the templates out of? Granted I would love to get a cnc table but thats not in the cards right now:grin:

matteh99
07-29-2009, 12:16 PM
How thick of stuff are you cutting?

I suppose you could make just the out line of your part with something like 1/8th x 3/8th flat stock on edge and make a brace system in the middle so it isn't to floppy. sorta like a huge cookie cutter. It would be a bunch more work but you wouldn't light your shop on fire.

I haven't use the plasma part of my 520 that much. I also would love a CNC plasma table. You just need to talk a friend into getting one and then go over to their place a bunch.

Eric

Gadget
07-29-2009, 04:15 PM
any template I have used is undersized half the width of the torch cup and I just run the cup along side it. You can then keep your tip the correct distance from the metal and not burn the template.
Dan

jakazz
07-29-2009, 06:32 PM
I was just reading on ww about a drag shield. I'm thinking an adjustable one made to fit over the copper plasma tip that would hold the tip 1/16" off the surface and have a dia. set for template cutting. Would I make this out of any metal, or would copper be what I should use, was pondering bronze or brass......

does longevity have drag shields?

Gadget
07-29-2009, 07:03 PM
I think the pilot arc models have a wire drag shield.

KHK
07-29-2009, 09:32 PM
I have a drag shield, mine is made of crome plated wire. It works very good. I have seen some that have a ring with rollers on two sides of it, but I have not tried one.

robert
12-28-2009, 05:56 AM
if you dont have a pilot arc torch what do you use to maintain a 1/8" standoff

Gadget
12-28-2009, 06:06 AM
Simon has roller guides for the 80 and 100 amp torch. Perhaps he will get some for the smaller torches too.

frijoli
01-03-2010, 12:55 PM
Simon has roller guides for the 80 and 100 amp torch. Perhaps he will get some for the smaller torches too.

I made mine with one wheel which I can switch left or right and the other side is up against the template.

---------- Post added at 02:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:45 PM ----------

BearNPum
01-04-2010, 10:58 AM
frijoli, do you have a pic of that roller guide you built? And, do you have a pilot arc torch?

frijoli
01-04-2010, 07:38 PM
frijoli, do you have a pic of that roller guide you built? And, do you have a pilot arc torch?

I'll see if I can get a pic. It's not my torch, but the one I made for my last machine building company.

It looks essentially like the one with two wheel, on mounted to a tube with a set screw in it.

I'll make a cad model example.

Clay

---------- Post added at 09:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:30 PM ----------

http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/5127/plasmaguideassembly.jpg (http://img51.imageshack.us/i/plasmaguideassembly.jpg/)

Gadget
01-04-2010, 07:42 PM
Nice work on the CAD, I have been trying to learn CAD and haven't had any luck yet.

frijoli
01-04-2010, 07:44 PM
Nice work on the CAD, I have been trying to learn CAD and haven't had any luck yet.

Heh, it only took me 25 years!

weldingtwopotatoes
01-04-2010, 07:51 PM
Nice CAD drawing! I'm in the same boat Gadget, I've been wanting to learn CAD for a while now but I've never gotten around to it. I've messed around with Google Sketchup (because it's free) but I can't do anything that looks any good. I need to take a class, it will force me to sit down and just learn it already.

Gadget
01-04-2010, 08:02 PM
A class would definitely help but they are pretty expensive for just hobby use. Now that I am about to retire I will have to watch the discretionary spending a bit closer so it probably won't happen.

weldingtwopotatoes
01-04-2010, 08:11 PM
A class would definitely help but they are pretty expensive for just hobby use. Now that I am about to retire I will have to watch the discretionary spending a bit closer so it probably won't happen.


Your right classes can be expensive. I was thinking of taking it at the local JC so it's cheap. Any of the privately owned Tech schools the cost for their classes is through the roof.

arandall
01-04-2010, 10:15 PM
I'll see if I can get a pic. It's not my torch, but the one I made for my last machine building company.

It looks essentially like the one with two wheel, on mounted to a tube with a set screw in it.

I'll make a cad model example.

Clay



---------- Post added at 09:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:30 PM ----------

http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/5127/plasmaguideassembly.jpg (http://img51.imageshack.us/i/plasmaguideassembly.jpg/)
Is that ever a nice drawing!
Do you think it could be done in "Auto-sketch". I am thinking of buying it just for drawings, but don't need a really sophisticated CAD program.

Art R.

frijoli
01-05-2010, 03:55 AM
I use SolidWorks, ProE, Autocad Inventor.

I suspect the closest thing that will do what I did here is this:

Alibre, Inc. - Affordable 3D CAD, CAM, FEA, Rendering, and Document Management Software (http://www.alibre.com/) Inexpensive and powerful.

Even that is cumbersome if you have no training. It's limited to what the others can do, but if I was going to buy something for myself it would be Alibre. Very affordable if you're serious.

Clay

Gadget
01-05-2010, 06:04 AM
Alibre just had a special for 197. but I think it has ended. Might be worth checking though

Alibre, Inc. - Affordable 3D CAD, CAM, FEA, Rendering, and Document Management Software (http://www.alibre.com)

robert
01-05-2010, 10:12 AM
I cant even put a picture on here let alone a drawing nice work.

arandall
01-05-2010, 11:00 AM
Thanks for the info guys.

Art R.

frijoli
01-05-2010, 05:16 PM
Alibre just had a special for 197. but I think it has ended. Might be worth checking though

Alibre, Inc. - Affordable 3D CAD, CAM, FEA, Rendering, and Document Management Software (http://www.alibre.com)


If you're serious about buying it, they will honor that price.

KHK
01-05-2010, 05:27 PM
Nice drawing!! Thanks for sharing

BearNPum
01-05-2010, 05:27 PM
Gadget, do you know anything about the CAM functionality of the $197 Alibre? They still show the standard version at $197

Gadget
01-05-2010, 05:32 PM
Supposed to be 3d parts with 2d drawing capability. I never got good enough with it to use it for anything other than the 2d drawing. You can get the full version as a free download and after a eval period will be downgraded somewhat but still useable for plasma cut paths.
I guess it would be easier if you downloaded the full version for eval and see if it will do what you need.