PDA
View Full Version :

UPS just delivered my 160p



jakazz
07-20-2009, 02:12 PM
So I checked my tracking out today away from home on unexpected errands. they said it was left on my porch, woohoo...cant wait to get home. :razz::razz:

Got home and saw this on the porch:;)

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2671.jpg

So as I have been reading this and other forums where longevity is discussed took imediate pics of delivered box. Notice the box on top......must be the torches and stuff.....hope they are ok:-|

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2672.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2673.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2675.jpg



Unpacked everything to check the contents, seems I'm missing the plasma consumables.....argghhh... At least the torch is preloaded...I hope, will check it later. Still need to get over to HD tonite and pu a plug.

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2676.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2677.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2678.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2679.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2680.jpg

Took a look at the case for any damage.....AAHH Crap, theres a couple small scratches by the rear case screw, and a scratch at one of the knobs...Damn I knew I was getting screwed with this deal....damn chinese crap......[SARCASM INJECTED HERE]. I wasnt expecting a concours quality show car here.....

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2682.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2683.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2684.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2685.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2686.jpg

Gotta cut this short, my 1 year old girl just woke up and i need to deal with my honey......I'll continue this tonite with my impressions....

jakazz
07-20-2009, 06:47 PM
So wifes home she got the "TAG" so I'm here again.....:wink:

Yeah so basically everything looks good, so as I researched a bit before I actually bought this most say to open the unit up and look inside to see if anything "dislodged" during shipping......well I gotta say it looks good, I noted the glued connections that was a talk a while ago, not exactly a neat and clean job, but still very functional. But I wouldnt want to spend an extra grand for pretty..:razz: The solder conections are clean, the mosfets are glued down well with the conductive cement, with ample coverage. Looks like a clean install

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2688.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2689.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2690.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2691.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2692.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2693.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2693.jpg

So tommorow I get the plug and fire up the plasma. Which consumable fits this unit these?


40/50 Amp Large Electrode Kit 10 $29.99 http://weld-pro.com/images/pixel_trans.gif http://weld-pro.com/images/40-50AMP%20Large%20Electrodes%2010kit.jpg
Click to enlarge (javascript:popupWindow('http://weld-pro.com/popup_image.php?pID=35')) http://www.longevity-inc.com/forum/images/40-50AMP Large Electrodes 10kit.jpg
Click to enlarge (http://weld-pro.com/images/40-50AMP Large Electrodes 10kit.jpg) 40/50 amp Electrode Kit contains 10 pieces.

A2Z Electronics and Welding (http://weld-pro.com/product_info.php?cPath=30&products_id=35)

Gadget
07-20-2009, 07:10 PM
Check with Simon or Jessie. They will send the missing consumables kit and you will get the right type.
Dan

matteh99
07-20-2009, 09:11 PM
That's interesting. The left side looks a lot like my LC-520. The right side must be the AC control side. It would make seance use the same power supply and then add on. A while ago I saw a box that would turn a DC arc welder into an AC Tig with fancy features but it cost as much as a whole new welder from longevity.

Eric

jakazz
07-21-2009, 09:18 AM
So i hooked everything up, checked to make sure I had something in the plasma torch. Got her to run right after dloading the spreadsheet. Cuts nice, a few questions for those experianced. The torch while cutting sometimes cuts out, is it that I;m getting to far away from the base metal and shutting down the arc?

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2695.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2698.jpg

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2697.jpg

And if I drag the torch doing a trace, or against a straight edge, with the tip in contact with the base, how bad does it wear the consumables?

And finally what is the life expectancy of the consumables, touching compared to standoff?

Well finally again, when you get alot of slag under the cut what does that signify?

Thanx in advance to noob questions:p

Gadget
07-21-2009, 11:17 AM
Jakazz,
1. The torch will cut out if you get too far away from the metal.
2. Dragging the tip will use the consumables quicker than a slight gap. However if you get a lot of splatter or backspray from the cut it will use the consumables faster.
3. The slower you cut the more slag you will get on the bottom.
Nice looking first cuts, looks like the unit is working well for you.

Dan


So i hooked everything up, checked to make sure I had something in the plasma torch. Got her to run right after dloading the spreadsheet. Cuts nice, a few questions for those experianced. The torch while cutting sometimes cuts out, is it that I;m getting to far away from the base metal and shutting down the arc?







And if I drag the torch doing a trace, or against a straight edge, with the tip in contact with the base, how bad does it wear the consumables?

And finally what is the life expectancy of the consumables, touching compared to standoff?

Well finally again, when you get alot of slag under the cut what does that signify?

Thanx in advance to noob questions:p

KHK
07-21-2009, 01:15 PM
I have found that cleaning the tip of the torch with emery cloth and using an accetline torch tip cleaner will extend the consumables life. The conaumables are made of copper and will ware and distort with use.
I have also found that the arc force knob effects the stability of the plasma cutting. I usaly set mine at about 50% of the dial.

Your cut looks real good, maybe just a little slow on torch movement?

Uncle Ed
07-21-2009, 02:23 PM
On the third pic down in your internal pics post there is an empty 3 pin connector (without any glue on it). Is that a solder bridge on the two left pins? If so, the left pin looks like a cold solder joint.

Just something that jumped out at me and I am prolly wrong.

Glad it's working.

Ed

henrym
07-21-2009, 08:11 PM
looks like it works alright! thanks for the pics.

FYI, (I don't have much plasma experience, but...) I find that the best way to clean a cut is to knock the bigger slag lumps off with a slag chipping hammer, then go over it with a twisted-wire cup brush on a grinder. gotta love how clean the edges can be.

and a good measure of cutting speed is watching the angle of the stream of sparks coming out of the backside of the cut, which should be trailing 15-30 deg. behind the torch/ cutting direction. APPARENTLY :lol:

LONGEVITY
07-22-2009, 01:40 PM
Jakazz,

If you have something missing that you ordered such as the consumables, please let us know. We will take care of it.

For the plasma cutter, you may want to increase or decrease your PSI, which may alter your cut and you may experience less dross. Usually, you just want to chip it off.

jakazz
07-23-2009, 11:50 AM
Well my on off switch just went, but I did get to use the Stick for a little,....it works like it should Another++ in my book. Had to unplug the unit to shut down, but at least it was stuck on :).

will try the Tig later today......

LONGEVITY
07-23-2009, 12:06 PM
Jakazz,

The on and off switch has been a problem with some units. The manufacturer of that switch produced 750000 defective ones and is getting sued. I will have the office send a new switch today.


Please email me with your contact information at simon@longevity-inc.com so I can expedite your issue for you.

Thanks

jakazz
07-23-2009, 12:16 PM
Jakazz,

The on and off switch has been a problem with some units. The manufacturer of that switch produced 750000 defective ones and is getting sued. I will have the office send a new switch today.


Please email me with your contact information at simon@longevity-inc.com so I can expedite your issue for you.

Thanks


Actually I just ordered some consumables from A2Z, and spoke with one of the techs, and they said it would be sent out today,
but hey thanx for the quick reply, and thats what made me buy this from you guys.
By the way the Tig got running today...ooh boy do I suck at Tigging.... but thats was using rolled up mig wire for fillerhttp://o.aolcdn.com/cdn.webmail.aol.com/resources/core/images/grin.gif

Just thrilled with this machine though, beyond expectation so far

matteh99
07-23-2009, 12:45 PM
It took close to a full 40 CF tank of Argon before I could TIG for more than one minute without touching the tungsten to something and having to re grind it. I have gotten pretty good at not screwing up the tungsten. Now I will get in a rhythm and go for a few inches and that section of my weld looks great then something happens and I get slightly off and my weld quality drops. With a few more years of practice I think I might be ok at TIG welding.

jakazz
07-24-2009, 07:57 AM
So my impressions are all in all a very capable machine for the money, switch died, no biggie coming in a few days. A couple scratches, oh there will be more, this will get worked hard ;);).Support, right there on the ball. And the machine functions like it should. As I have read there is a lot of crap about these and other Chinese inverter machines being DOA or other functions not working, I was a little skeptical for the last year or so about pulling the trigger on one of these, but after reading the forums about longevity they seemed to have the best support and feedback. The demo video is insane, but the guy probably was on drugs, beats his wife, and his dog, sooo...

Here is my pic of the first tig weld, I used mig wire rolled up just to make sure the tig functions worked, so now I'm gonna go to airgas and get the rods and some other stuff, like a decent ground clamp. Not to say the oem clamp isnt good, (my lincoln had the same type on it) just that I prefer a better clamp. I'm also going to do the air/gas supply quick connections, and shutoffs like I've seen elsewhere on this forum. Once I get The new cart setup I'll post more pics.


This is nasty...:-D:-D:-D But good penetration, by the way I have never tigged before
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg167/jakazz007/DSCF2700.jpg

Gadget
07-24-2009, 08:31 AM
Jakazz,
That is a good bead for a first timer. The key to a good TIG weld is to get the metal shiny clean and it helps to use acetone to get any film off before welding.
I've found that even smoke from nearby paint can affect the quality of the weld. If you happen to touch the electrode, stop and regrind it. A single touch can contaminate the weld.
Keep us posted on your progress.
Dan

KHK
07-24-2009, 10:00 PM
Jakazz,
Loooken good, practice will make it looken Great!!!

JJW
07-29-2009, 04:32 PM
jakazz,
Looks like a real nice machine!
Great Pictures
I'm thinking of buying the same unit.

I know the unit needs 220/240volts but do you know what are the amp requirments?

Regards,
John

Gadget
07-29-2009, 04:57 PM
It requires about 25 amps but you should use a 30 amp circuit to be safe. That's what I use on mine and have never tripped a breaker.
Dan