PDA
View Full Version :

arc welding aluminum

benecke
05-07-2008, 11:53 AM
Hi,My name is Ronnie.I am trying to find out how to arc weld aluminum.I am new at welding.I was told by a friend if you use a aluminum electrode,and weld on dc in reverse polarity it will work.First is this true and second what is a good inexpensive aluminum electrode to use.

EdKing
05-07-2008, 04:15 PM
I have never tried to stick weld aluminum, and everyone I have asked says it is better to either use the MIG or TIG process for aluminum.

Ed

Tibor27
06-11-2008, 05:54 PM
You can weld aluminum using a stick welder but you can forget about it looking pretty. I would recommend tig welding. It would also be difficult to weld anything thin with the stick. You can even use oxy-acetelyne but you have to have the right flux to protect the weld pool. Nobody really welds aluminum with the stick welder but give it a shot. Ask your welding supplier about the proper rods to buy.

Gaustin
06-23-2008, 01:18 PM
I repaired a Pontoon boat last year with a miller thunderbolt 225 and a biottle of helium on DCSP. It works fine. The AC cleans better and so does DCRP (Also possible to weld with) . Don't beleive all the hype. ACHF has advantages, but it tioo can be a pain. That stray current going through you can be exciting though.

rhett
07-14-2008, 10:59 AM
That stray current going through you can be exciting though.

LOL, it also loosens those metal filings in your teeth. :lol:

Rhett

RayL
07-18-2008, 08:05 PM
That stray current going through you can be exciting though.
:lol: :lol:

Stick electrodes have come a long way. I was forced to try some last year. I forgot what it was I bought (I will look it up Monday if I remember) but they welded so much better than when I had first tried it almost 20 years ago. What I do remember is then, and at my cost they were about $23 a pound.

Gaustin
07-28-2008, 08:49 AM